About the C.D. Howe Institute

The C.D. Howe Institute is an independent not-for-profit research institute whose mission is to raise living standards by fostering economically sound public policies. Widely considered to be Canada's most influential think tank, the Institute is a trusted source of essential policy intelligence, distinguished by research that is nonpartisan, evidence-based and subject to definitive expert review.

Get the App

Monetary Policy Council


The C.D. Howe Institute Monetary Policy Council is comprised of 12 of Canada’s most distinguished financial-market and monetary economists. Chaired by the Institute’s President and Chief Executive Officer William Robson, it provides the Bank of Canada, financial-market participants and economic policy commentators with a regular independent assessment of the appropriate stance of Canadian monetary policy as the Bank of Canada pursues its 2 percent inflation target.

The Monetary Policy Council convenes to discuss the Bank of Canada’s policy toward the overnight rate, the very short-term interest rate the Bank targets for monetary policy purposes, shortly before each of the Bank’s interest-rate announcements.

The Bank of Canada’s interest-rate announcements occur roughly every six weeks. The Monetary Policy Council’s recommendations, including the individual votes of its members, appear on the C.D. Howe Institute’s website at 2:00 p.m. on the Thursday before each scheduled announcement. You can find the MPC and Bank of Canada schedules here.


William B.P. Robson
President and Chief Executive Officer


Steve Ambler
Professor of Economics, Université du Québec
Edward A. Carmichael
Founding Partner, Ted Carmichael Global Macro
Beata Caranci
Chief Economist and Vice President, TD Bank Group
Michael Devereux
Royal Bank Professor of International Economics, University of British Columbia
Thorsten Koeppl
Professor and RBC Fellow, Queen's University
Stéfane Marion
VP & Chief Economist, National Bank Financial

Connect with Us

© 2014 C.D. Howe Institute. All Rights Reserved.

Connect with Us

© 2014 C.D. Howe Institute. All Rights Reserved.